Patrick Stewart Wins Best Actor At Critics Choice Super Awards For ‘Star Trek: Picard’ – TrekMovie

On Sunday night, the first-ever Critics Choice Super Awards aired on the CW and Star Trek Universe shows were up for a total of seven awards with nominations for Star Trek: Discovery, Star Trek: Picard, and Star Trek: Lower Decks. In the end, only Sir Patrick Stewart won. The Star Trek franchise also picked up the first-ever Legacy Award.

Stewart wins for Picard

The Critics Choice Super Awards is a new event to celebrate “the most popular, fan-obsessed genres across both television and movies, including Superhero, Science Fiction/Fantasy, Horror, Action and Animation.” Star Trek came into the night with a lot of nominations.

Sir Patrick Stewart won for Best Actor in a Science Fiction/Fantasy Series for his work as the star of Star Trek: Picard. He beat out Robbie Amell (Upload), Travis Fimmel (Raised by Wolves), Sam Heughan (Outlander ), Kayvan Novak (What We Do in the Shadows), Pedro Pascal (The Mandalorian), and Nick Offerman (Devs).

Accepting the award remotely, Stewart said there were too many people to thank, but thanked his Star Trek: The Next Generation co-stars Jonathan Frakes, Marina Sirtis, Brent Spiner, LeVar Burton, Michael Dorn, and Gates McFadden, as well as TNG executive producer Rick Berman.

Patrick Stewart accepts his Super Award

Both Star Trek: Picard and Star Trek: Discovery were nominated for Best Science Fiction/Fantasy Series, which went to The Mandalorian.  Discovery star Sonequa Martin-Green was also nominated as Best Actress in a Science Fiction/Fantasy Series, which was won by Natasia Demetriou (What We Do in the Shadows).

Star Trek: Lower Decks went into the night with three nominations. It lost out for Best Animated Series to BoJack Horseman. Jack Quaid lost Best Voice Actor to Will Arnett (BoJack Horseman), and Tawny Newsome lost Best Voice Actress to Kaley Cuoco (Harley Quinn).

Star Trek honored with first Legacy Award

Stewart’s award wasn’t the only honor for Trek for the evening. The Critics Choice Association presented the first Legacy Award to the Star Trek franchise “recognizing the cultural impact it has had across multiple decades while continuing to appeal to and grow its loyal fanbase with new stories and characters.”

Patrick Stewart and Sonequa Martin-Green both accepted the award on behalf of the franchise. Martin-Green began by saying, “On behalf of my Star Trek: Discovery family and the many extraordinary television series and films that inhabit the Star Trek Universe, I would like to thank the Critics Choice Association for honoring all of us – and most importantly Gene Roddenberry’s timeless vision – with your first-ever Legacy Award.”

Sonequa Martin-Green joined Patrick Stewart to accept the Legacy Award

For a complete list of winners visit

Keep up with all the Star Trek Universe news and analysis at


Related posts